Gluten is a protein primarily found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley. This means that most bread and products made with flour contain gluten. A lot of processed foods have hidden gluten, as well. People with celiac disease must eat a gluten-free diet because, when they consume gluten, it causes their immune system to attack the small intestine. Some people also have intolerances, or choose to avoid this protein for other reasons. The diet may seem limiting at first, but there are plenty of options out there when it comes to healthy, gluten-free foods.
All varieties of rice are naturally gluten-free. White rice is a fine choice, but people on a gluten-free diet may want to consider brown rice instead. It has roughly twice the amount of fiber as white rice, which can help make up for the fiber you lose when you stop eating foods that contain gluten.
This site offers information designed for educational purposes only. You should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, treatment, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you have any concerns or questions about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other healthcare professional.