5. Types of Albinism

There are eight types of albinism. Oculocutaneous albinism or OCA has several subtypes. People with this version of albinism have either minuscule amounts or no melanin at all. Ocular albinism affects only the eyes and affects males almost exclusively. People with ocular albinism have no color in the retina of their eyes. Hermansky-Pudlak Syndrome, a rare form of albinism, is similar to OCA but has added complications such as bowel, lung, and bleeding disorders.

Chediak-Higashi Syndrome is another rare form of albinism that affects the white blood cells in the body, which can increase infections. The final type of albinism is Griscelli Syndrome. This rare condition has been diagnosed in only sixty individuals worldwide since the 1970s.


SonerCdem / Getty Images

5 of 10

More on Facty Health


Popular Now on Facty Health


This site offers information designed for educational purposes only. You should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, treatment, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you have any concerns or questions about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other healthcare professional.