2. The Inner Moons or Amalthea group

There are four moons within the Inner Moons or the Amalthea group. These moons are much smaller than the Galilean moons and are closer to Jupiter. Called the Amalthea group after the largest satellite, Amalthea, these moons have nearly circular orbits and provide the dust that maintains Jupiter's rings. These moons include Metis, Adrastea, Amalthea, and Thebe.

Moons of Jupiter

dottedhippo / Getty Images



This site offers information designed for educational purposes only. The information on this Website is not intended to be comprehensive, nor does it constitute advice or our recommendation in any way. We attempt to ensure that the content is current and accurate but we do not guarantee its currency and accuracy. You should carry out your own research and/or seek your own advice before acting or relying on any of the information on this Website.