8. The SEAL Trident

Sailors who complete BUD/S and the SEAL Qualification Training are designated SEALs and receive the Special Warfare insignia for their uniform. More commonly known as the SEAL Trident, this gold insignia is worn on the breast and is one of the most recognizable of all navy insignias. The trident is also the only insignia that is the same for officers and enlisted men, which is partly due to their combined training during BUD/S.

SEALs trident training Luke Sharrett / Getty Images
8 of 10

More on Facty


Popular Now on Facty


This site offers information designed for educational purposes only. The information on this Website is not intended to be comprehensive, nor does it constitute advice or our recommendation in any way. We attempt to ensure that the content is current and accurate but we do not guarantee its currency and accuracy. You should carry out your own research and/or seek your own advice before acting or relying on any of the information on this Website.