Social media can be great, but sometimes you need to delete an account for one reason or the other. Perhaps you are changing your domain name and want a new Twitter handle to match up with this change. Sometimes people just decide to get off the Twitter platform due to privacy concerns or other issues.

1. Go to twitter.com and log into your account.

Only an authorized user to your account will have the authority to delete your account, so you must log in before you can delete your Twitter account. It is also important to note that you may not delete Twitter accounts from a mobile device. This is for security reasons and to avoid people being able to use your mobile phone to delete your account since phones are more shareable than desktop computers.

939841246MicroStockHub / Getty Images